Wednesday, February 11, 2009

Zambry appoints 4 advisers with exco status - Malaysiakini

Feb 11, 09 1:33pm

Barisan Nasional's Perak Menteri Besar Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir today announced the appointment of three advisers and a state information chief.

According to Bernama, the four will receive perks similar to those received by state executive councillors.

New Perak Menteri Besar Datuk Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir and his team addressing the media at a press conference at the state secretariat today before getting down to work. – Picture by Choo Choy May. Pix courtesy of Malaysian Insider

They are Mohd Najumuddin Elies in charge of Muslim affairs, Chang Ko Youn (Chinese community affairs), S Veerasingam (Indian community affairs) while Hamdi Abu Bakar has been appointed as the state information chief.

Chang, who is Gerakan deputy chairperson and Veerasingam, who is also MIC vice-president were defeated in the Beruas parliamentary seat and Sungkai state seat respectively in the last general election.

On the other hand, both Mohd Najumuddin and Hamdi won the Batu Kurau and Pengkalan Baru state assembly seats respectively.

Meanwhile, Zambry also announced the portfolios of state executive councillors which takes effect immediately.


The Perak state committee chairperson portfolios:

Zambry heads the Committee for Planning, Economy, Finance, Security, Land and Natural Resources, Agriculture, Housing and Religion.

Hamidah Osman: Industry, Investment, Entrepreneur Development, ICT, Tourism and Women's Affairs

Ramly Zahari: Infrastructure, Public Facilities, Energy and Water.

Dr Mah Hang Soon: Health, Local Government, Consumer, Environment, Transport and Non-Muslim Affairs.

Saarani Mohamad: Information, Rural Development, Poverty, Welfare and Farming.

Mohd Zahir Abdul Khalid: Education, Higher Education, Science and Technology

Zainol Fadzi Paharuddin: Culture, Youth and Sports.

Yesterday, the six Perak excos took their oath of office before Sultan Azlan Shah at Istana Iskandariah in Kuala Kangsar.

Zambry was sworn in as the new menteri besar last Friday after BN managed to form the state government after four Pakatan state reps left the alliance. One of them has rejoined Umno while the other three are 'BN-friendly' independents.

No comments: